Skip to product information
1 of 1

Strange Brothers: The Bird Next Tree

Strange Brothers: The Bird Next Tree

Regular price 119,00 DKK
Regular price Sale price 119,00 DKK
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Release date: 12-04-2019

Catalogue no. ILK290CD

 In 1976 Strange Brothers was formed by Simon Spang-Hanssen, Peter Danstrup og Ole Rømer. Later the same year the group won 1st price at the International Jazz Festival in Dunkerque, France, and shortly after saxophone legend John Tchicai joined the band. In the following years the toured a lot in former West- and East Germany, Denmark and Sweden. Two iconic records were made: ‘Darktown Highlights’ (SLP 1015) and ‘Free Concert’ (FMP/SAJ 15). Critics called the band ‘the white swan of Danish jazz’ and gradually the band evolved around John Tchicai’s many international activities – Tchicai was like a nomad living several places in Europe and USA. 

The band members were a part of the international entourage of musicians around him in bands like New Jungle Orchestra and John Tchicai Group. After the death of Tchicai in 2012 the brothers began picking up the old tunes, combining them with new compositions and invited the younger trumpet player Kasper Tranberg to join in. After that they never looked back and the band is now known as one of the most exuberant bands on the jazz scene: a sparkling front and a rhythm group that hasn’t skipped a beat for more than 40 years. In their book you will find both old and new compositions, focusing on energy, unique themes and close-knit interplay.

The present release is shaped by the diversity of the composers and demonstrates a remarkable breadth, versatility and flexibility. The band members have been like all over the place on the music scene playing with names like Michael Gregory Jackson, Billy Hart, Svend Asmussen, Marc Ducret, Marilyn Mazur, Jan Kaspersen a.m.o. 

Simon Spang-Hanssen: Saxophones, flute • Kasper Tranberg: Trumpet, cornet • Peter Danstrup: Acoustic bass guitar • Ole Rømer: drums

View full details