Skip to product information
1 of 2

Søren Nørbo / Wadada Leo Smith / Kresten Osgood: Dét, som ikke kan kaldes tilbage

Søren Nørbo / Wadada Leo Smith / Kresten Osgood: Dét, som ikke kan kaldes tilbage

Regular price 42,00 DKK
Regular price Sale price 42,00 DKK
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

This is an intimate meeting between three master improvisers: Wadada Leo Smith, and Kresten Osgood, and Søren Nørbo.

Søren Nørbo is a Danish pianist and composer, labeled by the main Danish magazine Politiken as “one of our most prestigious pianists”. On this album he presents nine compositions written for the occasion and recorded in his living room on one winter evening. All tracks are first-takes presented in the order they were played in.

Wadada Leo Smith (US) is a living legend trumpet player and composer. He was chosen a trumpeter of the year and composer of the year in Down Beat Magazine, and was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. Smith has performed and/or recorded with Anthony Braxton, Leroy Jenkins, Roscoe Mitchell, Henry Threadgill, Lester Bowie, Joseph Jarman, Cecil Taylor, Steve McCall, Anthony Davis, Carla Bley, Don Cherry, Jeanne Lee, Tadao Sawai, Muhal Richard Abrams, Ed Blackwell, Kazuko Shiraishi, Han Bennink, Marion Brown, Charlie Haden, Malachi Favors Magoustous, Jack DeJohnette, Vijay Iyer, Ikue Mori, Min Xiao Fen, Bill Laswell, John Zorn, Ronald Shannon Jackson, Frank Lowe, among many others.

Kresten Osgood is one of these people who at the same time defy and totally own categories. An extraordinary drummer and improviser with the fullest respect for tradition, without fear to challenge it at any given moment of his creative endeavors. He has about 100 albums to his credit, toured practically everywhere, and has been performing and/or recording with legends like Roscoe Mitchell, Paul Bley, Lee Scratch Perry, William Parker, Masabumi Kikuchi, Derek Bailey, Wadada Leo Smith, Jason Moran, Michael Blake, Oliver Lake, Kurt Rosenwinkel, John Tchicai, Tim Berne, Justin Vernon, Peter Brötzman, Joshua Redman, Eugene Chadbourne, Billy Preston, Alan Silva, Brad Mehldau, Mats Gustafsson, Bennie Maupin, The National, Dr. Lonnie Smith, Sam Rivers, Henry Grimes, Dr. Yusef Lateef, Warren Smith, and many many others.

Søren Nørbo: piano
Wadada Leo Smith: trumpet
Kresten Osgood: drums

Catalogue#: ILK358
Release date: 19-04-2024

All music by Søren Nørbo (KODA), Wadada Leo Smith (Kiom Music, ASCAP) & Kresten Osgood (KODA)

Recorded on February 1, 2014 by Claus Højensgård​ in Søren’s living room in Østerbro, Copenhagen, Denmark
Mixed by Søren Lyngsø Knudsen​
​Master​ed by David Elberling​

Cover art​ by Laura Munck
Layout by Søren Nørbo & Tomo Jacobson

View full details